Music for my Film

Music played a key part in my film when building tension and suspense regarding my female protagonist Effy played by Anna Perry as I was able to effectively combine my body image theme with the thriller genre. The music for the opening credits is somewhat sinister sounding piano music as I filmed myself ripping up images of famous celebrities to highlight their “desirable features” so that I could subtly introduce my body image theme. After this my main character has a flash back and there is an eerie droning sound effect combined with the voice over of the main character talking with echo effects on her voice to make her sound shaky and unstable. The pitch and pace of the music changes throughout the film so that I could convey the characters emotions through the sound. I wanted my music to help the audience interpret the characters thoughts and feelings so that they would be able to decipher what message is being conveyed.

After the eerie droning sound effect combined with the voice over there are several bursts of piano music in random places to convey my characters erratic mental state. I also juxtaposed happy, upbeat music with tense, sinister music. In places where I wanted it to look as though the main character is loosing her grip on reality I changed the speed of the piano music to make it faster which made in seem incongruous and out of place. Sound effects were also very helpful for my film in places where the sound seemed unprofessional looking or lacked continuity e.g. at the start of my film I used the sound effect of an alarm going off instead of the girls mum shouting “Effy wake up” as I wasn’t happy with how this sounded. These examples are just a few which explain how the music for my film was effectively paired with the visuals.

Leave a comment